British colonies. (West Indies and Mauritius)
Read Online

British colonies. (West Indies and Mauritius) Return to an address of the Honourable the House of Commons, dated 6 August 1846; for ... by

  • 921 Want to read
  • ·
  • 38 Currently reading

Published by s.n. in [London .
Written in English


  • Working class -- Mauritius.,
  • Great Britain -- Colonies. -- West Indies.,
  • Great Britain -- Colonies. -- Mauritius.,
  • West Indies, British -- Emigration and immigration. -- 19th century.,
  • Mauritius -- Emigration and immigration. -- 19th century.

Book details:

Edition Notes

Other titlesState of the labouring population in the West Indies and Mauritius, Immigration of labourers into the West Indian colonies and the Mauritius, Immigration of labourers into the West Indian colonies and Mauritius, Papers relative to immigration of labourers into the West Indian colonies, Papers relative to immigration of labourers into the Mauritius
Series[Parliament, 1846. Reports and papers] -- 691. I-II
ContributionsGreat Britain. Colonial Office
The Physical Object
Pagination2 v. ;
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL17993869M

Download British colonies. (West Indies and Mauritius)


The British Empire comprised the dominions, colonies, protectorates, mandates, and other territories ruled or administered by the United Kingdom and its predecessor states. It originated with the overseas possessions and trading posts established by England between the late 16th and early 18th centuries. At its height, it was the largest empire in history and, for over a century, was the. British Empire, a worldwide system of dependencies— colonies, protectorates, and other territories—that over a span of some three centuries was brought under the sovereignty of the crown of Great Britain and the administration of the British government. The policy of granting or recognizing significant degrees of self-government by dependencies, which was favoured by the far-flung nature. American colonies, also called thirteen colonies or colonial America, the 13 British colonies that were established during the 17th and early 18th centuries in what is now a part of the eastern United colonies grew both geographically along the Atlantic coast and westward and numerically to 13 from the time of their founding to the American Revolution (–81). This item: The American Colonies and the British Empire: - by Carl Ubbelohde Paperback $ Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Ships from and sold by by: 1.

The Thirteen Colonies were areas settled by the British between and It was these colonies that rose up against the British to gain their independence in the American Revolution. After the French War ended in , the colonies had become peaceful and rich. There were more than million colonists living there by The term "British Overseas Territory" was introduced by the British Overseas Territories Act , replacing the term British Dependent Territory, introduced by the British Nationality Act Prior to 1 January , the territories were officially referred to as British Crown Colonies.. Although the Crown dependencies of Jersey, Guernsey, and the Isle of Man are also under the sovereignty Government: Devolved administrations under . New Book From “The Negro Question” Series Says that the Original 13 British Colonies Were Founded by Black Kings — Author Lee Cummings says his history book is based on factual information and proves that the original 13 British colonies were founded by 5 black kings from Europe, 4 black Scottish kings, and 1 black German king! Early British Colonies John Smith, seen here in a 19th-century painting based on a engraving, was a self-proclaimed soldier of fortune, sea captain, and poet. MAIN IDEAMAIN IDEA Terms & Names •John Smith •Jamestown •joint-stock companies •indentured .

Filed under: Great Britain -- Colonies -- Population -- 20th century A Problem of Great Importance: Population, Race, and Power in the British Empire, (Berkeley et al.: Global, Area, and International Archive; University of California Press, c), by Karl Ittmann (page images and PDF with commentary at ). The 13 British colonies were divided into three Geographic areas: New England, Middle Colonies, and Southern Colonies. New England Colonies: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut.. Middle Colonies: New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware.. Southern Colonies: Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. This collection contains Blue Books and other archival material from 13 British colonies and protectorates in Africa dating The standardised nature of the Blue Books enables comparisons to be drawn geographically (between colonies), and over time on issues from colonial economic practice to . The History, Civil and Commercial, of the British Colonies in the West Indies, Vol. 1 of 4 (Classic Reprint) by Edwards, Bryan and a great selection of related books, .